So Here I am

So, here I am. 40 years old, a mom to a 21 year-old woman, a 16 year-old young man, and a new 16 month-old little baby girl (my answer to the empty nest, and my hubby’s first child). I am the co-owner of a regional arts and lifestyle alt-monthly magazine with my hubby, which we run from home (and the car, the front yard, and sometimes the park…). I could stand to lose about 50 pounds, thanks, in part, to my penchant for carby-goodness. Oh, and I’ve just registered to start University to complete my Licensed Practical Nursing Diploma. Because I am not busy enough.

Why the heck am I, a 40 year-old with a gaggle of kids (all living at home, thank-you-very-much), one of them a baby (who is still breast-feeding part-time), and a business, husband,  wonky knee and a membership in the local drama club, going to go back to school to become an LPN? Good question. Because I can, is the short answer. Because at this phase of life, I am going after the dreams that I am dreaming now. Because just because you’re forty doesn’t mean that you’re dead. Because I believe that at this stage of life I could handle the career – something I don’t think I could have done before 20 years of diapers, scrapes, cuts, broken bones, hospital visits, colds, asthma, and mysterious sicknesses that will never be understood. All catered to by Dr. Mom.

So for the last few weeks I have been putting the ball in motion, talking to the instructor, getting my paperwork in order, filing for bursaries and grants, starting my pre-requisites, and coming to terms that I will be in school with a bunch of kids who were never alive when Kurt Cobain was. I am blessed that I can go to university in my home-town. I am even more blessed that Thompson Rivers University is the best in the business when it comes to the LPN program in all of Canada. It may be a wild ride, but I am confident that I can count on some talented guides.

Welcome to my journey.

Each week I will be sharing my experiences, my highs, my lows, my challenges, my struggles, my victories, and my accomplishments. Because I believe that I am not the only one out there who wants to continue education as a grown up. And, trust me, if I can do it – you can do it.

I welcome your comments, your encouragement, your questions and, most of all, your company as we embark on this crazy new journey.

Hold on to your hats – it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

About jharland

A 40-something mother, wife, business owner, friend, writer, self-proclaimed semi-hippie, lover of bacon and carbs (though they don't love me) and, most recently, a new university student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

