Oh what a feeling

I feel as if I am falling behind quite a bit with my homework. It is a few weeks in, now, and just looking at what projects need to happen, what notes need to be studied, what needs to be practised… I am feeling a little scattered and tired just thinking about it.

It likely doesn’t help that I came into the whole school experience a little haphazardly. If I could tell anyone anything about getting back into school – be prepared. Get on those pre-requisites. Know what is expected right off the bat. Ask questions. Lots of them. Plot out your days. Because when you are juggling work, family, and school – you need to know that it is going to be a bit of a struggle. You also need to know that it is worth it. And you can do it.

And so that is why I am not giving up or giving in to negative thinking, and that is the important part.

For anyone thinking about going in to such an intensive program, I would recommend not working, or working as little as possible, while in the course. I know that’s not always possible, and here I am running a business and working part-time, so I am the biggest breaker of the no-work rule that there is. But if it is possible – cut back on the workload – there is a lot to think about. And even though you aren’t running around all day, the poor brain gets tired by the end of the day. And if you can’t cut back – like me, I totally feel your pain – self-care is all that much more important.

Remember to care for yourself. Self care. Be gentle. Be kind. Make absolute certain that you listen to your own body symptoms. Where you hold stress. What are your triggers? Have you yelled at the kids three times today and then cried in the bathroom? You likely need a break. Take one. And those negative people in your life who just want to cast their own shitty days on you, point out the negative things in all situations (even yours), or bring you down to their own level of wallowing – you know the ones, we all do – cut them right out. You don’t have time for them. In fact, you should do that anyway, life is too short for naysayers.

Oh ya, and don’t fall behind in your work. Procrastination is a killer. And it is stressful.

Organization is key, and self-discipline cannot be stressed enough. This doesn’t mean that you’re going to turn into a fun Nazi, just that it is important to know your limitations. Stick to them. But always, always, always take time out for yourself every day. Even just a little. Go to the gym. Go for a walk. Take a hot bath with a glass of wine (something that I am sure will come up often in this blog)…

And study. Don’t study hard – study smart. Take a few minutes to go over your notes at the end of the day. Don’t make a 20 page graph of them and post them on your walls until you are enveloped in the crisp smell of fresh print paper. Just take a few moments to read them. Maybe in the tub with that glass of wine.

Maybe one of these days I will take all my own advice.

About jharland

A 40-something mother, wife, business owner, friend, writer, self-proclaimed semi-hippie, lover of bacon and carbs (though they don't love me) and, most recently, a new university student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh what a feeling

  1. Diane says:

    Hey Juli – I remember going back to college – vividly – when my boys were 5 and 7. The first couple of months were FRIGHTENING; I was so afraid of falling behind with homework that I remember praying the boys’ bedtime would come so I could get to it. Then suddenly, I realized that it was getting done, my lazy brain had kicked into gear again and it was easy. Everyone relaxed and my kids were into a great routine by that time.

    Inevitable that you will have moments of doubt, that’s what change is about. But you know all this stuff, you are all about change and what it brings. I would wish you good luck, but you don’t need it.

    Diane

  2. smoking pot says:

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web
    site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return yet again since I bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

Leave a Reply

