Mid-Term Eve, and a full moon … coincidence?

Tomorrow is my first mid-term exam up at WLTRU for the LPN program and I am half convinced that my poor brain is old and dusty and won’t retain a single iota of information, thus causing me to not only fail miserably but to lose all function and fall to the floor like a flailing idiot, likely covered in bile and without wearing any pants.

Or so it goes in my head. It probably will go much easier in real life.

Studying for exams is something I haven’t had to think about for a lot of years. And here I am, now, the day before the first of many and I am freaked out just a little bit. I have read and re-read the information until my brain just couldn’t hold any more even if I lopped the top off and stuffed it like a sausage. It is full. It is full and sort of hurting. Though that could be hormones – who knows?

In my feeling like I have fallen behind I have not taken enough time to do the one thing that could make a huge difference – going over my notes on a regular basis. Oh I have looked at them, but they have, at times, been shuffled off to ‘look at them later on’… and as I should know by now (because, let’s face it, I tell my kids this every day it seems) that ‘later’ just never comes. And now here I am, less than 12 hours away from the first mid-term of the LPN course, and I can’t remember if I remember everything. I am questioning myself. Not a good practice.

I suppose I should be practising visualization and doing relaxation techniques to keep my stress levels down. Or maybe I should be heading to bed to wake up early tomorrow morning so I have time to go over my notes one last time before the exam. Or maybe I should get the hell of the computer and make sure I have covered everything I need to cover. Again. One more time. Just to be safe. You know, ’cause I am all old and junk.

I think I am going to go with the ‘go to bed and wake up early’ option. Partly because we talked about that in class not too long ago, and partly because my brain is a little fried with trying to make sure all the correct info is in the forefront of it for the exam tomorrow. And partly because I know that there isn’t going to be much gain from making myself crazy tonight just to go to the exam tired as all hell and panicked because I am over-tired, over-stimulated, and likely jacked on coffee. But mostly because of the in-class discussion part.

There are fantastic ways to study out there. And to be honest I haven’t utilized as many of them as I likely should have. Yet. Though I am aware of my weakness in this area and I am actively working on it. And not just because I have to pass this blooming exam in the morning. But because I want to be a better student, and ultimately a better nurse. Which is what this is all about in the long run.

About jharland

A 40-something mother, wife, business owner, friend, writer, self-proclaimed semi-hippie, lover of bacon and carbs (though they don't love me) and, most recently, a new university student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

